Friday, 25 August 2017

Review: Sparks of Light by Janet B. Taylor



SPARKS OF LIGHT
by Janet B. Taylor
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Format: Hardcover
Release Date: August 1st, 2017
Purchase: [Amazon] [Chapters/Indigo]
For the first time in her life, Hope Walton has friends . . . and a (maybe) boyfriend.

She’s a Viator, a member of a long line of time-traveling ancestors. When the Viators learn of a plan to steal a dangerous device from the inventor Nikola Tesla, only a race into the past can save the natural timeline from utter destruction. Navigating the glitterati of The Gilded Age in 1895 New York City, Hope and her crew will discover that high society can be as deadly as it is beautiful.

     


If you've yet to read Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor, stop immediately! Set this review aside and pick up the title asap - you won't regret it. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor, the first in her debut series, was pitched as an "outlander for teens", a comparison I didn't quite agree with but still inspired me to pick it up. I was blown away by Janet's tale of a time-travelling teen, diving into the rich history of the past, and coming across some incredible characters. Hope was a phenomenal heroine, one whom I enjoyed dearly despite her imperfections, and after the ending of Into the Dim, I anticipated the release of Sparks of Light with glee.

"And yet, as the memories emerged full-bodied and complete, I felt removed from them. As if I were watching a beloved character from one of my favorite books come to life."


In Sparks of Light, the series really begins to come together to create something phenomenal. Hope finally feels like she belongs. She's got a wonderful group of friends, a possible love life in the works, and has finally found a purpose - as a Viator. As a time-travelling explorer, Hope must now steal a dangerous device from Nikola Tesla, and hopes to do so before the timeline comes to ruin. In the fast-paced sequel to Into the Dim, I found myself far more captivated with the constant action and development than I previously did with Into the Dim. Sparks of Light had a wonderful change of pace that made quite the difference in my overall enjoyment of the series, and it truly made Hope's race to save the world far more dire than first thought. Additionally, I was also completely satisfied with Hope's overall development. She grew immensely in comparison to Into the Dim, having a new understanding of her own personal strengths, and a little more courage to trust in the unknown. Overall, Sparks of Light is definitely worth a second read, one of which I hope to do if another installment makes it's way into the world *crosses fingers*

Sparks of Light by Janet B. Taylor, the sequel to Into the Dim, was a sublime leap through time. It was fast-paced, action packed, and full of interesting characters. Fans of Lesley Livingston's Never series and Kerstin Gier's Ruby Red, are highly recommended the series.



Rating: 
4.5 / 5 Cupcakes




This title was provided to the blogger by the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review. No payment was received/accept in exchange for this review/post. The blogger requests that this review not be reposted or edited without the blogger's permission. The thoughts and words expressed in this review/post are explicitly the blogger's.

No comments

Post a Comment