Friday, 17 November 2017

Review: Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa de la Cruz




PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND MISTLETOE
by Melissa de la Cruz
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover
Release Date: October 17th, 2017
Purchase: [Amazon] [Chapters/Indigo]
Darcy Fitzwilliam is 29, beautiful, successful, and brilliant. She dates hedge funders and basketball stars and is never without her three cellphones—one for work, one for play, and one to throw at her assistant (just kidding). Darcy’s never fallen in love, never has time for anyone else’s drama, and never goes home for Christmas if she can help it. But when her mother falls ill, she comes home to Pemberley, Ohio, to spend the season with her dad and little brother.

Her parents throw their annual Christmas bash, where she meets one Luke Bennet, the smart, sardonic slacker son of their neighbor. Luke is 32 and has never left home. He’s a carpenter and makes beautiful furniture, and is content with his simple life. He comes from a family of five brothers, each one less ambitious than the other. When Darcy and Luke fall into bed after too many eggnogs, Darcy thinks it’s just another one night stand. But why can’t she stop thinking of Luke? What is it about him? And can she fall in love, or will her pride and his prejudice against big-city girls stand in their way?

     


I've always been the kind of reader to do somersaults of excitement every time I come across or hear of a modern-day retelling based on a beloved classic. Although I've read my fair share of Pride and Prejudice retellings, some good but most horrifyingly terrible, I was definitely eager to learn how Melissa De La Cruz's modern retelling of the infamous duo would fair compared to others. Would it be unique, with only a hint of inspiration of Pride & Prejudice? Would it possibly be an exact copy with a twist of cellphones and modern technology? Either or, I was certain Melissa De La Cruz would not disappoint.

Although I would highly discourage readers from going into the title and expecting it to be an exact retelling of Jane Austen's most epic romance, I did truly fall in love Pride and Prejudice, and Mistletoe. I found it fresh, entertaining, and absolutely delightful. It was a thoroughly enjoyable seasonal read that was beautifully romantic, funny, and original despite it's Pride &Prejudice inspiration. I felt that both Darcy and Luke's personalities, although similar to those of the iconic duo, were far more of a surprise than I had originally anticipated. Furthermore, although I was almost certain of what the course of events would be throughout P&P&M would be, I did have a few moments where I truly felt worried for our Darcy and Luke. I wondered if they'd make it, hoped that they would break out of their shells, and even clung to each page anticipating their next encounter with one another. It felt very much like the first time I read Pride & Prejudice, and that may be the very reason why this is now my favorite modern day retelling of P&P yet.

Melissa De La Cruz's Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe is the perfect holiday read for the romantic reader. It's cute, sweet, and the perfect amount of swoon. Fans of Pride and Prejudice, and even fans of Bridget Jones' Diary are highly recommended to give it a read.

Rating: 
4 / 5 Cupcakes



This title was provided to the blogger by the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review. No payment was received/accept in exchange for this review/post. The blogger requests that this review not be reposted or edited without the blogger's permission. The thoughts and words expressed in this review/post are explicitly the blogger's.

No comments

Post a Comment