Monday, 9 April 2018

{Event Recap} Frenzy Presents - Spring 2018 Edition


Happy Monday, Cupcakes!

This weekend I had the pleasure of being invited to and attending one of my most anticipated bookish events of the year - Frenzy Presents! First and foremost, I want to thank the lovely team at HCC Frenzy for working tirelessly to create yet another flawless Frenzy Presents event. The afternoon was filled with bookish talk and delicious eats, and I couldn't have imagined a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon - Thank you!




On April 8th, 2018 the lovely team at HarperCollins CANADA invited several influential book bloggers (and booktubers) to attend their annual Frenzy Presents event for Spring 2018. This year, the event took place at their brand new headquarters, located in the very core of Downtown Toronto with a stunning view of not just the city but Lake Ontario. Upon our arrival, I had arrived quite early, I was immediately captivated with the new look of the offices. Spacious, modern, and stunning with books-a-plenty. After checking in, we grabbed some snacks and refreshments, and made our way into the event room. A cascade of chairs were neatly aligned alongside the large windows, giving us a glimpse of the beautiful Toronto skyline, and at the front a large screen for the presentation. As we settled into our seats, and enjoyed the hum of the playlist, I took the opportunity to catch up with my fellow book bloggettes.

Not long after, the HCC Frenzy team made their way to the front of the event room, and with microphone in hand, they started their in depth presentation on this year's highly anticipated Spring 2018 releases.


Wendy's Highly Anticipated Spring 2018 Releases:

The Fates Divide by Veronica Roth (April 2018)
- It's the much anticipated companion to Veronica Roth's CARVE THE MARK
- It immediately follows the high-stake events of it's predecessor
- Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy and lovers of action packed science fiction titles.

Leah on the Off Beat by Becky Albertalli (April 2018)
- A perfect read for fans of Becky Albertalli's SIMON VS. THE HOMOSAPIEN AGENDA
- Follows the story of Leah, Simon's best friend
- A highly recommended feel-good contemporary title for those looking for an emotional read that oozes realism and wit.

Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now by Dana L. Davis (April 2018)
- The best next read for fans of Girl out of Water and Fresh Prince of Bel-Air
- A contemporary title for readers looking for something fresh. Filled with wit, humor, and a phenomenal cast of characters.

Puddin' by Julie Murphy (May 2018)
- The much needed companion novel for fan's of Dumplin' by Julie Murphy
- A feel good contemporary title directly connected to the characters of Dumplin'

Onyx & Ivory by Mindee Arnett (May 2018)
- DRAGONS!
- A fantasy title perfect for fans of Julie Kagawa's Talon series and Leigh Bardugo's Grisha series.
- Fierce characters and a suspenseful, action-packed plot

Loneliest Girl in the World by Lauren James (July 2018)
- The next big space read for lovers of Beth Revis' Across the Universe and Claudia Gray's Defy the Stars.
- A sci-fi YA title featuring a fierce and intuitive protagonist, and a high stakes premise.

Sea Witch by Sarah Henning (July 2018)
- For fans of Disney's The Little Mermaid
- A intriguing look at Ursula's past and the events leading to The Little Mermaid

Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton (July 2018)
-This spring's most highly praised YA title
- Pitched as a fierce feminist fantasy series featuring witches, magic, and hunters.


Other Spring 2018 Releases:

- Past Tense by Sarah Spider (April 2018)
- The Diminished by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson (April 2018)
- 9 Days & 9 Nights by Katie Cotugno (May 2018)
- All of This is True by Lygia Day Penaflor (May 2018)
- War Storm by Victoria Aveyard (May 2018)
- Monday's Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackson (May 2018)
- Invisible Ghosts by Robyn Schneider (June 2018)
- Mariam Sharma Hits the Road by Shesa Karim (June 2018)
- Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno (June 2018)
- Fat Girl on a Plane by Kelly Devos (June 2018)
- The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen (June 2018)
- Notes From My Captivity by Kathy Parks (July 2018)
- Heretics Anonymous by Katie Henry (August 2018)
- These Rebel Waves by Sara Raasch (August 2018)



Immediately following the presentation to this year's Spring releases, we had a special guest drop in - author Hadley Dyer. As a guest author of Frenzy Presents, Hadley was there to feature and discuss the release of her novel HERE SO FAR AWAY, a stunning and moving contemporary read. Hadley, during her speech and the Q/A had me utterly captivated about her writing process, and the path that inevitably lead her to writing Here So Far Away. After meeting her today, I'm happy to say I'm eager to dive into my beautiful copy of her novel, courtesy of HarperCollins Canada - thank you!


Hadley Dyer's speech and Q/A was immediately followed by a signing and the opportunity to catch up with other readers and bloggers present at the event. It gave us the opportunity to discuss with one another our most highly anticipated releases and gave us a moment to network with each other.

All in all, this spring's Frenzy Presents event was an absolute blast! A big thank you to HarperCollins Canada/ HCC Frenzy for organizing this incredible afternoon and for forwarding the invitation. I look forward to discussing and reviewing all my most anticipated releases very soon.

Happy Reading!



1 comment

  1. This sounded like such a great event. Here so far is one I have had my eye on for a while. I just added invisible ghosts to my TBR it sounds really good. Happy reading 😊

    ReplyDelete